Font size:

Belarus and Russian regions

The cooperation of the Republic of Belarus with the territorial subjects of the Russian Federation is carried out within the framework of concluded agreements on trade, economic, scientific, technical and cultural cooperation (over 80 agreements). In addition, about 450 agreements have been signed between the regions of the Republic of Belarus and the territorial units of the Russian Federation of different levels.

The joint councils and working groups on cooperation, established with 79 regions of Russia, are an effective tool for implementing bilateral relations.

The Central, Ural, Volga and North-West federal districts of Russia take the leading positions in the mutual trade of the Republic of Belarus with the Russian Federation. Most fruitful Belarus interacts with Moscow and St.Petersburg, Tyumen, Moscow, Smolensk, Bryanskaya, Sverdlovsk, Leningrad regions, the Republic of Tatarstan and Perm area.

Most fruitful cooperation Belarus has with the city of Moscow and Moscow region, Smolensk region, St. Petersburg, Bryansk region, the Republic of Tatarstan, Rostov, Kemerovo, Leningrad and Sverdlovsk regions.

The priority is given to the advance of industrial cooperation with Russian regions, the creation of joint assembly production. The Belarus enterprises establish dealer centers for the sale and maintenance of equipment in the regions of Russia. The farmers exchange their practices and technologies for the production of agricultural products.

The Belarusian constructors build houses, social and industrial facilities in key partner regions. The experience of Belarusian road companies in road design and construction is in demand in Russia. 

Since 2014, forums of the regions of the two countries have been held annually under the auspices of the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus and the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.

There are 11 branches of the Embassy of the Republic of Belarus in the Russian Federation (in the cities of Kaliningrad, Smolensk, St.Petersburg, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Kazan, Ufa, Yekaterinburg, Novosibirsk, Krasnoyarsk and Vladivostok).

The regional cooperation is one of the most effective mechanisms for deepening the whole range of Belarusian-Russian relations.

To go back to the main article click here

Belarusian Diplomatic Missions abroad

All Missions Foreign Diplomatic Missions in Belarus
Go to



Official Internet Resources