Font size:

Eurasec and Central-Asian Cooperation Organization Amalgamate

07 October 2005

The Eurasian Economic Community /EurAsEC/ and the Central-Asian Cooperation Organization /CACO/ amalgamate into one body. Such a decision was taken on the summit of CACO leaders in St. Petersburg on October 6.

The EurAsEC includes Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan, CACO - Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. After Uzbekistan applied for EurAsEC accession, they took the decision on making one organization. As Russian President Vladimir Putin stated, the Belarusian side had agreed on this decision.

President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbaev noted at the press conference, the amalgamation would avoid double work of the two organizations. “Besides it meets the interests of the EurAsEC as well as of CACO”, he stated. The leader of Kazakhstan considers that such integration processes can be in the near future applied to another structure on the CIS territory – the Single Economic Space

print version



Official Internet Resources