Visiting Belarus visa-free

Home / Foreign Policy

Foreign Policy of the Republic of Belarus

After declaration of independence the Republic of Belarus entered the world stage not only as a new sovereign state which appeared as a result of the collapse of the USSR, but also as a European country with rich history traditions of state.

Polotsk, Turov, Pinsk and other principalities of IX-XIV centuries born on the territory of today’s Belarus, and their successor the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, Rus and Samogitia (mid. XIII-XVIII cent.) were active international actors. The Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic (1919-1991) was a founding member of the United Nations,and has been a full-fledged member of the UN throughout its existence.

The adoption by the Supreme Council of the BSSR of the Declaration of State Sovereignty of Belarus on July 27, 1990 with its successive acquiring the status of a Constitutional Law on August 25, 1991 was a turning point in the development of the state. Having exercised its natural right to self-determination, the Republic of Belarus, which received its new official name by the Supreme Council of the BSSR decision of September 19, 1991, embarked on pursuing its independent foreign policy.

Belarus started the development of its own foreign policy course under difficult conditions. The world has entered the process of drastic geopolitical, economic, social transformations characterized by high intensity and dynamism. The formation of new centers of power has come along with escalation of state rivalry and intensifying competition among future development models.

Despite the objective complications following independence, the Republic of Belarus has managed to develop its international relations without giving up its national interests. Thus, Belarus has been able to promote and protect with confidence its foreign policy objectives and priorities.

Today Belarus is a sovereign European state pursuing an independent and peaceful foreign policy, developing cooperation with foreign partners from all over the world, and making a significant contribution to strengthening of international security and stability.

Belarus maintains diplomatic relations with 177 countries of the world and is represented today by foreign offices in 59 countries worldwide. In 2014 Belarus established embassies in Australia, Qatar, Mongolia, Pakistan, Ecuador and Consulate General in Milan (Italy), i
n 2016 — in Georgia and Spain, the Embassy of Belarus fully restored its operation in Sweden.

45 foreign embassies, 4 embassy branch offices, 2 trade missions, 35 consular offices (including honorary consuls), 15 missions to international organizations and 88 foreign diplomatic missions with concurrent accreditation are present in Belarus.