Information on visa-free travel via the checkpoint “Minsk National Airport”

According to the Presidential Decree No.8 dated January 9, 2017 (with the amendments effective from July 27, 2018), foreign citizens of 74 countries (see below) can enter Belarus, exit from the territory of Belarus only through the State border checkpoint of the Republic of Belarus “Minsk National Airport”, and temporarily stay in the territory of Belarus visa-free for a period of up to 30 days.

The period of visa-free stay is calculated in full calendar days; the date of arrival corresponds to the full first day of stay, the date of departure corresponds to the full last day of stay (regardless of the time of arrival and/or departure).

The given order of visa-free movement through the airport does not apply to persons coming to Belarus by plane from the Russian Federation, nor to persons who intend to depart by plane to the airports of the Russian Federation (such flights are considered as internal ones, and border control is not carried out in these cases).

Visa-free regime does not apply to the holders of diplomatic, service, special and other passports equivalent to them.

In order to enter the Republic of Belarus visa-free via the checkpoint “Minsk National Airport” foreign nationals should have the following documents:

- valid ordinary passport. The passport must be valid at least 90 days beyond intended date of departure from the Republic of Belarus;

- financial means: amount equivalent to not less than 2 base rates for each day of stay (51 BLR as of January 1, 2019) or 50 base rates (1275 BLR) if the intended stay equals to 30 days, in Belarusian rubles (BLR) or foreign currency;

- medical insurance policy with coverage of at least 10 000 euros, valid in Belarus during the whole period of stay.

For the citizens of Vietnam, Haiti, Gambia, India, Lebanon, Namibia, Samoa a valid multiple entry visa to the EU member states or Schengen zone with a mark in passport confirming crossing the border of these states and tickets with confirmation of departure from “Minsk National Airport” within 30 days from the date of entry are compulsory additional requirements.

NB: When staying in Belarus for more than 5 days with the exception of Sundays and state public holidays, established and announced by the President of the Republic of Belarus, foreign citizens should register at the divisions on citizenship and migration of the relevant departments of internal affairs at the place of their temporary stay, or via unified portal of e-services When staying in hotels, hostels, sanatoriums and other collective accommodation facilities the registration of foreign citizens is carried out by the administrations of such facilities by default upon check-in.

The period of visa-free stay cannot be extended beyond the established 30 days. 

The visa-free travel regime applies to citizens of the following countries: 

1.     Republic of Albania

2.     Principality of Andorra

3.     Antigua and Barbuda

4.     Australia

5.     Republic of Austria

6.     Barbados

7.     Kingdom of Bahrain

8.     Kingdom of Belgium

9.     Bosnia and Herzegovina

10.  Republic of Bulgaria

11.  Canada

12.  Republic of Chile

13.  People's Republic of China <*>

14.  Republic of Croatia

15.  Republic of Cyprus

16.  Czech Republic

17.  Kingdom of Denmark

18.  Commonwealth of Dominica

19.  Republic of El Salvador

20.  Republic of Estonia (including stateless persons permanently residing in the Republic of Estonia)

21.  Republic of Finland

22.  French Republic

23.  The Islamic Republic of the Gambia <*>

24.  Federal Republic of Germany

25.  Republic of Haiti <*>

26.  Hellenic Republic

27.  Hungary

28.  Republic of Iceland

29.  Republic of India <*>

30.  Republic of Indonesia

31.  Ireland

32.  Italian Republic

33.  Japan

34.  Republic of Korea

35.  State of Kuwait

36.  The Republic of Latvia (including persons having the status of non-citizen of the Republic of Latvia)

37.  Lebanese Republic <*>

38.  Principality of Liechtenstein

39.  Republic of Lithuania

40.  Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

41.  Republic of Macedonia

42.  Malaysia

43.  Republic of Malta

44.  Mexican United States

45.  Federated States of Micronesia

46.  Principality of Monaco

47.  Republic of Namibia <*>

48.  Kingdom of the Netherlands

49.  New Zealand

50.  Republic of Nicaragua

51.  Kingdom of Norway

52.  Sultanate of Oman

53.  Republic of Panama

54.  Republic of Peru

55.  Republic of Poland

56.  Portuguese Republic

57.  Romania

58.  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

59.  Independent State of Samoa <*>

60.  Republic of San Marino

61.  Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

62.  Republic of Seychelles

63.  Republic of Singapore

64.  Slovak Republic

65.  Republic of Slovenia

66.  Kingdom of Spain

67.  Kingdom of Sweden

68.  Swiss Confederation

69.  United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

70.  United States of America

71.  Eastern Republic of Uruguay

72.  Republic of Vanuatu

73.  Vatican City State

74.  The Socialist Republic of Vietnam <*>


<*> Provided that they posess a valid document for travels abroad with a valid multiple entry visa to the EU member states orto the states in Schengen zone with a mark in passport confirming crossing the border of these states, as well as the tickets with confirmation of the date of departure from “Minsk National Airport”