Collective Security Treaty Organization

The Collective Security Treaty (CST) was signed on May 15, 1992 in Tashkent, by the Heads of six countries: Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Subsequently, Azerbaijan, Georgia and Belarus joined it. The treaty came into force on April 20, 1994. In April 1999, the Protocol on prolongation of the Collective Security Treaty was signed by six of them (except for Azerbaijan, Georgia and Uzbekistan).

It was decided to transform the CST into a full-fledged international organization – the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) at the Moscow session of the Collective Security Treaty on May 14, 2002. On October 7, 2002 the Charter of the Collective Security Treaty Organization and the Agreement on legal status of the CSTO were signed in Kishinev and came into force on September 18, 2003.

On December 2, 2004 the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution granting the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) an observer status in the UN General Assembly.

The fundamental objective of the Organization – is to continue and strengthen close and comprehensive relations in the foreign policy, military, military-technical spheres, coordination and joint efforts in combating international terrorism and other security threats.

The key objectives of the CSTO are provision of national and collective security, intensive military-political cooperation and integration, foreign policy coordination on international and regional security issues, the establishment of multilateral cooperation mechanisms, including a military component, the development of cooperation in the counteraction to modern challenges and security threats, such as international terrorism, drug trafficking, illegal migration, transnational organized crime, information and cyber security, military-technical cooperation.

At the present stage the CSTO has transformed from a “classic” military-political bloc, focused on protecting allies from foreign aggression, into a multifunctional regional organization that can provide a comprehensive security of Member States, as well as react quickly and flexibly to a wide range of modern challenges and threats.

Belarus enhances active cooperation with the CSTO, stands for a strong and effective Organization and its integration into the Eurasian security architecture.

Belarus pays much attention to the cooperation within the CSTO on the following issues:

1. Ensuring implementation of decisions taken by presidents of the CSTO Member States. A number of decisions in 2011-2012 and their implementation have laid the foundation for the development and enhancement of new CSTO activity – the improvement of the CSTO member-states security in the information sphere. The problems of forming a coordinated information policy in the interests of the CSTO, and information security are actual problems for Belarus.

2. Development of the initiatives that our government has promoted as a priority during its presidency of the CSTO in 2011 (cooperation enhancement in responding to emergencies, cooperation enhancement on peacekeeping issues with the UN). For example, due to the Belarusian joint UN-CSTO peacekeeping initiative, in September 2012 in New York, the Memorandum of Understanding between the CSTO and the Department of UN peacekeeping was signed.

3. Expansion of Belarus participation in the sphere of foreign policy cooperation with CSTO partners. In 2012, a series of joint statements on urgent international issues was prepared. At the initiative of the Republic of Belarus collective directions to the Permanent Representatives of the Member States in international organizations are regularly updated.

4. Enhancement of cooperation with international universal and regional organizations, building partnerships with them. In April 2012 on the meeting of the Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the CSTO the Belarusian side initiated a discussion on ways to enhance cooperation between the CSTO and the OSCE.