Visiting Belarus visa-free

Ambassador of Belarus D.Mironchik meets the leadership of the Swedish Parliament


On June 13, 2019 the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Belarus to the Kingdom of Sweden, Dmitry Mironchik, met with the Speaker of the Riksdag, Andreas Norlèn, and the representatives of the leadership of the Swedish Parliament.

D.Mironchik informed the leadership of the Riksdag of the development of Belarus and the situation in the region, as well as the progress achieved in bilateral relations during the year that has passed since the restoration of full-fledged diplomatic presence by Minsk and Stockholm.
Ambassador of Belarus stressed that the trade between the two countries grew by more than a quarter in 2018, and Swedish companies, including such giants as IKEA, demonstrate a genuine interest towards cooperation with our country. While a number of issues on the bilateral agenda remain debatable, this does not prevent Minsk and Stockholm from finding common positions on such topics as combating trafficking in persons, and constructively discussing the issues related to strengthening regional security.
Upon the invitation of the Speaker, the Ambassador outlined the results as well as laid out future plans of cooperation between Belarus and Sweden in environmental protection and combating climate change. The Ambassador briefed the Riksdag leadership on the understandings reached by the Minister of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection, Andrei Khudyk, and his Swedish counterpart, the Deputy Prime Minister – Minister Environment and Climate, Isabella Lövin, during his visit to Stockholm on May 21-24, 2019. 
The head of the diplomatic mission expressed the hope that, following the first contacts between the parliaments, held in March 2019, the Swedish Riksdag and the new the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus would establish sustainable and constructive cooperation.
The meeting with the Riksdag leadership was also attended by the ambassadors of Armenia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Moldova and Russia.