Visiting Belarus visa-free

Commonwealth of Independent States

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a regional intergovernmental organization, which main goal is maintaining cooperation on political, economic, environmental, humanitarian, cultural and other issues between a number of former Soviet Republics.

According to the CIS Charter, the supreme body of the Commonwealth is the Council of Heads of States, which settles fundamental issues in the sphere of Member States common interests. 

Session of the Council of Heads of Government, the Council of Foreign Ministers and the Economic Council of the CIS are held on a regular basis to discuss issues of current interest.

The CIS Interparliamentary Assembly conducts inter-parliamentary consultations, discusses issues of cooperation in CIS framework and develops joint proposals for the national parliaments.

The CIS Economic Court is established to ensure the unified application (implementation) of the agreements of the CIS Member States and the economic obligations and treaties based on them.

The CIS Executive Committee is a permanent executive, administrative and coordinating body of the Commonwealth. The headquarters of the CIS is located in Minsk. The office of the CIS Executive committee supervising economic issues is situated in Moscow.

In 2013 the presidency in the CIS was carried out by the Republic of Belarus. The concept of Belarus’ presidency was based on the motto “Integration into the benefit of the person: neighborliness strengthening, economic cooperation development, assistance to increase the availability of ecological “green” technologies, expansion of dialogue of cultures”.

According to the decision of the Council of Heads of State (October 25, 2013) the presidency in 2014 was supposed to be carried out by the Ukraine, but on March 19, 2014, the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry officially announced its decision to end the CIS presidency. The presidency moved to the Republic of Belarus again. During 2013 – 2014 more than 100 significant events of an economic, ecological, humanitarian and interregional nature were held. 

In 2015, the Republic of Kazakhstan presided in the CIS, and in 2016 – the Kyrgyz Republic. 

The central issue of the year 2016 was the adapting the Commonwealth to modern realities. The approach to preserve the CIS as a full-fledged international organization was supported by the Member States. 

Taking into account the decisions of the CIS Council of Heads of State (September 16, 2016) in 2017, under the presidency of the Russian Federation, actions aimed on optimization of financial expenditures of the CIS statutory and branch bodies, personnel discipline improvement have been carried out. 

Measures have been taken to improve the procedure of agenda-forming for the sessions of the Council of Heads of State and the Council of Heads of Government. The authority to establish basic organizations of CIS Member States has been delegated to the Council of Foreign Ministers and the Economic Council of the CIS. The personnel number of the International Statistical Committee has been reduced by 11%.

The Heads of Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan signed the Protocol on Amendments to the Agreement on the Status of the CIS Economic Court, according to which the Court sessions to be converted to “ad hoc” format.

In 2018, the presidency in the Commonwealth moves to the Republic of Tajikistan.