Visiting Belarus visa-free

Home / Multilateral Cooperation

Multilateral Cooperation

One of the areas of foreign policy of the Republic of Belarus is the participation in the work of universal and specialized, global and regional international organizations and integration groups.

International strategies helping to respond efficiently and mechanisms to handle pressing economic, social and political issues are needed to face new global challenges and threats arising in today’s age of economic globalization. Such strategies are currently being developed within the framework of multilateral cooperation.

Apart from traditional participation of the Republic of Belarus in the activity of the United NationsNon-Aligned Movement, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, interaction with partners within integration associations and the organizations of the post-soviet  area has actively been developing: CIS, EAEU and CSTO.

The  Republic of Belarus is an active participant of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Belarus considers the CIS an important integration association with enormous cooperation capacities and supports the activation of the process directed to further reinforcement of interaction among the states of the CIS.

The headquarters of The Commonwealth of Independent States is situated in Minsk. Fateful decisions for all states of the Commonwealth were repeatedly taken in the capital of the Republic of Belarus.

Priority objectives of cooperation development within the Commonwealth are defined in the Concept of further development of the CIS of 2007 and in the Plan of the principal arrangements for its achievement.

On October 10, 2000, the Eurasian economic community (EurAsEC) was established by the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan with the task to create Customs Union (CU) & Single economic space (SES)/The Customs Union (CU) of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia came into force on January 1, 2010.

The set of 17 basic agreements forming Single economic space (SES) was put into effect on January 1, 2012.

On May 29, 2014  presidents of the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation signed the Agreement on the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU). The EAEU Agreement came into force on January 1, 2015.

Eurasian Economic Community has fulfilled its task of creation of  CU & SES. Therefore, on October 10, 2014 during the meeting of Interstate Council of the Member States' Heads signed the Treaty on termination of Eurasian Economic Community.

A need to mitigate the aftermath of the global economic crisis and launch structural financial reforms prompted more cooperation with the key economic and financial organizations such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, UN Economic Commission for Europe and UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).

An imperative goal for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is to raise investments and bring in expertise of the specialized intergovernmental organizations to push forward social and economic growth in the Republic of Belarus.

The UN Development Assistance Framework Programme for the Republic of Belarus for 2011 – 2015 is a unique document signed in October 2010. It is a strategic cooperation plan for the collaboration between the government of the Republic of Belarus and all specialized UN institutions, funds and programmes working in Belarus. It provides for the $490m-worth of technical assistance projects due to be implemented in Belarus.

In terms of multilateral cooperation, it is noteworthy that Belarus co-operates with quite a few international organizations (EU, NATO, SCO, etc.) as a non-member and sends its delegations to multilateral international forums.